P W Akkerman Inks Test

Akkerman BluesAkkerman RedsAkkerman Greens

Well, well, well. Thirty one of these inks tested in total and half way through I got the strangest feeling of ‘Déjà vu’. But before I go into that, a little bit about Akkerman. It’s a Dutch brand, with a heritage, and consists of 30 colours with a washable blue. And a very attractive group of colours they are too. Not only that, they come in the most incredible bottles! See below:

Akkerman Bottle

BUT that’s where I stop. These inks behave exactly the same way as Diamines. Okay, I haven’t tested ALL the Diamine range bit I have checked and cross checked with the ones I have and to my mind there is no doubt so if you want to know how they behave have a look at my previous Diamine tests. I adore Diamine inks and you all know that, but as I say, I thinks these are they. I am also a hard grafting creative who still needs to win the lottery. So, if you’ve got the money and like fancy bottles, here you go. If like me you’re into the product, Diamines are better value, and it’s a bigger range.

All tests on Bockingford 200lb watercolour paper AND I used my very own Frankenflex pen!