Private Reserve Red Inks Test

I’ve been putting off testing these Private Reserve inks for some time and I can’t figure out why? I tested a handful a while ago and was somewhat scathing about them. Well, I’ve just tested another 42 of them and in hindsight, maybe I was a just a little too harsh. Okay, what you’ll see over the next four posts is a range of inks that are certainly inconsistent BUT amongst them are some real characters.

Dakota Red – A good rich red with no chromatic qualities but a very heavy dark sheen. Writes well.

Rose Rage – This was a little weird when blended with water and granulated into a sludge. No chromatic qualities. Some reaction with bleach. Nice colour when writing.

Shell Pink – Blends well with water and neon reaction with bleach. No chromatic qualities. Bleeds a little when writing. Not a colour for me.

Plum – Blends well with water and a limited reaction with bleach. No chromatic qualities. Writes well.

Burgundy Mist – Lovely. Blends well with water and a dull gold reaction with bleach. Chromatically wonderful – deep purples, blues, salmon pinks and blue greys. Super writing colour and flows through the nib well.

Black Cherry – Doesn’t blend that well with water and a limited reaction with bleach. Chromatically reveals – deep red browns, dark blues and salmon pinks. Super writing colour and flows through the nib well.

Claret – Blends very well with water and a dull gold reaction with bleach. Chromatically gradates from deep wine reds to salmon pinks and blue greys. Flows through the nib well.

Arabian Rose – Blends very well with water and a neon gold reaction with bleach. Chromatically gradates from deep crimson to pale blue greys. Flows through the nib well.

Burgundy Mist and Black Cherry are well worth further investigation.

Announcement: I have finally given into pressure and opened an ETSY shop. If you’d like to buy any of the original art featured on my site you can purchase it here. I will do my upmost to add value to your investment over time – click here to access the shop . I am also accepting commissions for swatch tests. So, if you have a favourite ink(s) and some words for someone special, or maybe just for yourself, drop me a line and we can discuss further.

I hope you enjoy the results as much as I have testing them. And by the way, there are many other reviews throughout this blog. If you’d like to know more about this project, please take a look at the Mission Statement.

All tests on Bockingford 200lb watercolour paper using a dip pen with titanium zebra G flex nib for the bleach work and a Noodler’s Ahab for the ink work.

Ink samples sourced through Goulet Pens.

Just for the record – I do this for myself, I receive no remuneration what-so-ever and I tell it exactly how I see it.